Recordings on the Soundboard record label

View the contents of your shopping

Go back to main Recordings page


William Croft

William Croft - Keyboard Music

SBCD991 - £12.00


The harpsichord is rich and sonorous, matching perfectly the spacious, unhurried but nevertheless detailed interpretations… In fact the whole disc is of superb quality and represents the most persuasive and interesting Croft recording I have heard. An impressive disc by any standards.
Early Music Review

Playing a brass-strung harpsichord built by himself, Colin Booth most persuasively presents the engagingly fresh charm of these suites.

1) Suite in G major: Ground; Minuett
2) Suite in C minor: Prelude; Allemande; Courante; Sarabanda; Ground; Aire; Hornpipe; Minuet
3) Suite in F: Scotch Tune; Air; Jigg
4) Suite in A: Ground; Minuett
5) Suite in D minor: Slow Almand; Corant; Slow Saraband
6) Trumpet Overture: Entry; Allegro; Adagio; Allegro
7) Suite in E minor: Almand; Corant; Saraband; Rondo; Gavotte
8) Suite in G minor: Prelude; Aire; Minuett
9) Suite in A major: Almand; Corant; Saraband
10) Scotch Tune (“The Lovesick Jockey”)

Croft is chiefly remembered for his church music, but the quality of his keyboard music is consistently good, with a defined personal style which is unusually tuneful, direct and attractive. He had the unusual ability of conveying a variety of contrasting moods within the confines of a harpsichord suite.

back to top

Privacy Policy


© 2013-2019 Colin Booth, harpsichordist and harpsichord maker