Recordings on the Soundboard record label

View the contents of your shopping

Go back to main Recordings page


Louis Couperin

Louis Couperin

SBCD215 - £12.00


This disc is as interesting for the instrument as for Louis Couperin’s music. Colin Booth, exceptionally, is both a fine performer and an historically informed craftsman. He acquired the two-manual 1661 French-Italian Nicholas Celini harpsichord in 2012, restored it and then - inspired by its remarkably “long sustain” - chose to record pieces by Couperin.
The instrument, when tuned to 17th-century French pitch, produces an exceptionally resonant sound, especially considering there is no keyboard coupler: the bass is strong and clear, and Booth’s timely use of the 4ft stop on the upper manual is enchanting… His interpretations are at once poetic, luxuriant and emotionally compelling.
Julie-Anne Sadie, Gramophone, November 2015.

Colin Booth continues to provide performances of an exceptional quality.
The Consort

1) Prélude in D major
2) Allemande in D minor
3) Two Courantes
4) Canaries
5) Sarabande
6) La Pastourelle
7) Volte
8) Chaconne la Complaignante
9) Prélude
10) Allemande
11) Courante
12) Sarabande
13) Gigue
14) Chaconne la Bergeronnette
15) Prélude in G minor
16) Prélude in C major
17) Prélude à l’imitation de Mr. Froberger
18) Menuet de Poitou et son Double
19) Gigue
20) La Piémontoise
21) Sarabande en Rondeau
22) Prélude
23) Allemande Grave
24) Gaillarde
25) Branle de Basque
26) Sarabande
27) Sarabande Two
28) Gigue
29) Tombeau de Mr. de Blancrocher
30) Chaconne


back to top

Privacy Policy


© 2013-2019 Colin Booth, harpsichordist and harpsichord maker